Buddhist Compassion Relief Tzu Chi Foundation

Tuesday
Dec 07th
  • Increase font size
  • Default font size
  • Decrease font size
Home Global Activities Taiwan Exploring the Future of Buddhism through a Historical Perspective

Exploring the Future of Buddhism through a Historical Perspective

E-mail Print PDF
In the history of Buddhism, why did it come to an end in India? Why did it decline in China in the Ming and Qing dynasties after 1,900 years of its existence? Dr. Rey-Sheng Her will give the answer on October 12, 2021. You don’t want to miss it. Please come join the second lecture of Yin-Cheng Distinguished Lecture Series hosted by Harvard FAS CAMLab.

The lecture analyzes the reasons underlying the disappearance of Indian Buddhism during and before the 13th century, and the decline of Chinese Buddhism after the Ming Dynasty. The modernization of Buddhism must aim to better the society and apply its philosophy and practices to contribute to the well-being of the secular world. Buddhism could generate larger global impacts through reformulating Buddhist philosophy, reforming organizations, and promoting spiritual practices. The future of Buddhism relies on its continuous adaption to and influences on our modern society.

The event is free and open to all.

Speaker:
Dr. Rey-Sheng Her
Deputy CEO of Buddhist Tzu Chi Charity Foundation
Associate of Harvard FAS CAMLab

Seminar:
Exploring the Future of Buddhism through a Historical Perspective:
With a Reference to the Tzu Chi School of Buddhism

Discussants:
Richard Madsen
Professor Emeritus of Sociology, UC San Diego

Elise Anne DeVido
Chair, Department of English Language and Literature, Tzu Chi University

Date: 6 AM PDT / 8 AM CST2 / 9 AM EST / 2 PM BST October 12 (Tue.) 2021

The channels for the lecture:
Youtube(中文):https://youtu.be/5f5C1Fcg2qQ
Youtube (English): https://youtu.be/A0peMkQ8BS8


 
【News】Tzu Chi in The World